Southern High School Lacrosse Championships

This year Alabama’s high school state champions are the Spain Park Jaguars. The Jaguars won a decisive 16-5 victory over the Virgil Grissom Tigers.

In Florida, the Saint Andrews Scots won their state title with a 16-10 win over the Lakeland Prep Highlanders. Fun fact, the St. Andrews Scots are coached by lacrosse legend Casey Powell.

Georgia’s high school lacrosse is divided into class AAAA and class AAAAA. In the AAAA class, the Lambert Longhorns won their championship with a 10-7 win over the Pope Greyhounds. And in the AAAAA class, the Milton Eagles won an exciting overtime battle with a final score of 10-9 against the Lassiter Trojans.

Louisiana may not be known for lacrosse, seeing as how they only have 15 teams across the state that play lacrosse, but they too have a state champion! This year’s Louisiana state champions are the Jesuit-New Orleans Bluejays. The Bluejays won a low scoring game against the Saint Paul’s School Wolves with a final score of 7-5.

Now on to the home state of current NCAA national champions Mike and Matt Sawyer; North Carolina! Like Georgia high schools, North Carolina has two classes for lacrosse; NCHSAA (public) and NCISSA (private). The NCHSAA champions are the Lake Norman Wildcats. The Wildcats won 9-8 over the Cardinal Gibbons Crusaders. And in the NCISSA league, the Charlotte Latin Hawks won their title over the Ravenscroft School Ravens with a score of 12-5.

Saving the best for last, is my home state of South Carolina. South Carolina also has two different classes; the SCHSL and the SCISA. In the SCHSL (sanctioned) the Wando Warriors won a very close game over the Dorman Cavaliers by a score of 7-6. As for the SCISA, the Hammond School Skyhawks beat the Heathwood Hall Highlanders with a 12-6 final score.


Congrats to all of the 2011-2012 high school state champions across the country!!