Knighthawks Re-Sign Hopcroft for Two Years

August 13, 2014

 The Rochester Knighthawks announced today that the team has re-signed Derek Hopcroft to a two-year deal. In 2014, the 28-year-old forward won his first Champion’s Cup in his first season in Rochester. “I’m excited and pumped to be back with the Knighthawks for another couple years to help the team win another championship,” said Hopcroft. In his four seasons in the NLL, he has collected 21 goals, 21 assists and…


Knighthawks Sign Campbell for Two Years

August 12, 2014

The Rochester Knighthawks have re-signed defenseman Scott Campbell to a two-year deal. “It feels good,” he said. “There is no place I would rather be than in Rochester trying to continue the success we have had the past few seasons.” Campbell, who enters his 11th season in the NLL, has won three straight Champion’s Cups with the Knighthawks. In 2014, Campbell played in 17 games, notching two goals, five assists…


Knighthawks Qualify Johnny Powless

July 31, 2014

The National Lacrosse League has announced that the Rochester Knighthawks have avoided restricted free agency for forward Johnny Powless with a qualifying offer sent before the July 31 deadline. With the NLL free agency period set to open on August 1, the Knighthawks currently have three players set to enter restricted free agency in forward Stephen Keogh, transition player Joel McCready and defenseman Mac Allen. Rochester’s roster also features five…


The Three-peat Knighthawks Are a True NLL Dynasty

June 28, 2014

Since the days of the Eagle Pro Lacrosse League there have 31 teams fighting it out for the right to call themselves champions. Throughout that time who has been the best team of all time? The 2014 NLL season gave fans a spectacle of talent, and record setting trends. The Edmonton Rush set a regular season win streak record, with their youth, speed, and outstanding defense. Many thought early on…


Billings, Vinc and Jamieson NLL MVP Candidates

June 19, 2014

The National Lacrosse League has announced three finalists for the 2014 NLL Most Valuable Player award. Toronto Rock forward Garrett Billings joins two Rochester Knighthawks players, forward Cody Jamieson and goaltender Matt Vinc, on the MVP ballot as candidates for one of the league’s top honors.   Billings led the NLL in average points-per-game (6.73) and finished third in the league with 101 points (32+69) despite just 15 games played with…


Bold, Cosmo and Vinc Candidates for NLL Goalie of the Year

June 17, 2014

The National Lacrosse League has announced three finalists for the 2014 NLL Goaltender of the Year award. The Edmonton Rush’s Aaron Bold, Buffalo Bandits’ Anthony Cosmo and Rochester Knighthawks’ Matt Vinc were the top trio of vote recipients for best goalie play in the league this year. Bold, who posted an NLL-record 8.73 goals against average in 2014, backstopped the Rush to a league-low 157 goals allowed. The nine-year veteran…


Hasen, Malwasky and Keenan NLL Coach of the Year Finalists

June 11, 2014

The National Lacrosse League has announced three finalists for 2014 NLL Head Coach of the Year (The Les Bartley Award). The Rochester Knighthawks’ Mike Hasen, Edmonton Rush’s Derek Keenan and Calgary Roughnecks’ Curt Malawsky were the top three vote-getters for their head coaching roles with their respective teams. Hasen led Rochester to the top of the East Division with a 14-4 record, second best in the NLL, in his fourth…


Knighthawks to Host Parade on Tuesday

June 8, 2014

 The Rochester Knighthawks will hold a 2014 NLL Championship Parade on Tuesday, June 10th at 11:45 a.m. The procession will start at The Blue Cross Arena and end at City Hall on Church Street. Knighthawks Owner and General Manager Curt Styres will then receive a proclamation from the City of Rochester. The players and staff will transport the Cup through the streets in a caravan of vehicles. Fans can wear the…


NLL Champions Cup: Dawson Talks Champions MVP

We were honored to be present at the final Champions Cup game in Rochester NY over the weekend. Our Rocco Granato was able to snag some audio following the game:   Joel McCready – Knighthawks Cory Vitarelli – Knighthawks Dan Dawson – Knighthawks  

June 2, 2014