CLax Preseason Update Part 1: SouthWest & Durham

South West Cyclops:
The newest team in CLax, SouthWest Cyclops will be lead by long-time Western Mustang head coach, Jeremy Tallevi. The 2013 Niagara Lock Monster co-head coach will bring his assistant coach from last year, Jesse Cracknell.

Looking to lead the Cyclops in 2014 is Brampton, ON native Ryan Campbell and Edmonton Rush prospect Mike Burke. Netminder Steve Fryer will tend the twine for SouthWest this year after being released by the Buffalo Bandits this past National Lacrosse League preseason.

The Cyclops also acquired two-year CLax veteran Jackson Gair, in the Toronto Shooting Stars dispersal draft. A pair of Toronto Beaches Jr. A products Dilan Graham and Aiden Genik, were selected by coach/GM Tallevi while netminder Gary Muzzin was drafted with the final pick of the dispersal draft.

Orangeville, ON native Blair Goss was selected in the first round by SouthWest while former Buffalo Bandit Jimmy Purves was selected in the second round. With a heavy University of Western Ontario influence, Tallievi drafted Eric Pitre, Patrick McCrory, Jordi Jones-Smith, Sam Neeb and Jake Crans, all members of the 2013 UWO Mustang squad. Tallevi also acquired his offensive leader from the Mustangs in Ryan McCrory in a trade with the Durham Turfdogs. The Cyclops sent Brock Boynton and Jeremy Crowder to Durham to acquire McCrory and a 2014 Entry Draft pick.

Durham Turfdogs:

The Durham Turfdogs are one of two teams that began in the 2012 inaugural season and are still in search for their first Creator’s Cup in franchise history. The Turfdogs will have a new general manager for the 2014 season in former Niagara Lock Monsters vice-president and assistant general manager, Dave Colbourne.

The new GM was not shy in making moves early as Colbourne made the first trade of the year with the Niagara Lock Monsters. Durham sent captain Mitch Dumont, Graham Bergsma, Tyler Tanguay, and their third round pick in the 2013 entry draft to Niagara in exchange for Niagara’s first and second round pick in the Toronto Shooting Stars dispersal draft, and a player to be named later.

The Turfdogs were the busiest team at the Toronto dispersal draft as they selected 10 players, but before the draft even began, Colbourne made two key acquisitions to improve the Turfdogs. Besides acquiring Boynton and Crowde for Ryan McCrory, Durham picked up Mark Farthing, Coady Adamson, a 3rd round Entry Draft Pick and three Dispersal Draft picks for Shane Scott, four Entry Draft picks and a 5th round Dispersal Draft pick.

With their first pick in the dispersal draft, Durham selected 2013 CLax transition player of the year Mack O’Brien. The Turfdogs boosted their already strong offense by adding Brad Levick, Josh Wasson and Derek Hopcroft. Colbourne also drafted transition specialist Aaron Brown and Geoff Griffiths, while also selecting defensive stand outs in Brad Mazzocato, Scott Gamble and goaltender Craig Robertson.

In his first entry draft as general manager, Colbourne drafted a solid mix of offense, defense, transition and even home grown talent. Former Whitby Warrior and current Brooklin Redmen Nick Diachenko was selected second overall and will be expected to be an immediate impact player on both sides of the ball. 2010 Founders Cup champion with the Halton Hills Bulldogs Jordan Dance was taken in the third round. Eleven-year NLL veteran Gavin Prout was nabbed in the fifth round while just one pick later, fellow former NLL player Geoff McNulty was selected by the Turfdogs. Other notables in the draft were Loyola University grad Reid Acton, former Whitby Warrior tough guy Emmerson Clark and all-time Green Gaels Jr. B scoring leader Dylan Goddard.

Check back tomorrow to ILWT for Niagara, Barrie and Ohsweken’s updates!

Comments are closed.