Ken Galluccio Cup Won by Spencer

The Ken Galluccio Cup is the annual European club lacrosse championship, and it wrapped up this week with Spencer winning first place.The point of the tournament is to gather the best club teams from European countries to have an overall European champion. The tournament has existed for six years.

The winning team was Spencer, a club from South England. Other teams were represented in England (Stockport), Ireland (University College Dublin), Italy (Bocconi), Sweden (Farsta Cobras), Germany (Stuttgart), Czech Republic (LCC Radotin), France (Lille Spartiates), Belguim (Red Rhinos), Netherlands (Amsterdam Lions), Norway (Oslo Legends) and Scotland (Edinburgh). It was held in Ghent, Belgium.

Rob Holmes of Spencer led the tournament with 29 points. Radek Skala of LCC Radotin and an ELL star was third with 17 overall points. Sean Gibson was another familiar name of Dublin, also an ELL player and owner of Duetschland Adler who scored seven goals. Petr Poupe is a popular Czech player who scored six points for LCC Radotin.

The third place game was between Stockport and LCC Radotin. Stockport took third place with the 9-8 win, led by the hat trick from Tom Gosnay. Spencer defeated the Swedish Farsta Cobras with a 13-3 game for the first place victory. Holmes scored three times while Joe Darkins and Alan Keeley scored twice each. Swedish goalie Tom Elfstrom made 14 saves in the loss.