MLL Playoffs: How the Bayhawks Were Built

The Bayhawks have played in the MLL since the league’s inception in 2001. The Bayhawks are the MLL’s second winningest franchise of the league. The franchise has won four MLL Championships and four division titles throughout their history in the league.


In 2001, the Bayhawks won the National Division crown, but fell short in the championship game to the Long Island Lizards. In 2002 the Bayhawks repeated as National Division champion, and this time avenged their title game loss with their first MLL crown. In 2003 the Bayhawks continued their National Division dominance with their third straight title, but again came up just short in the MLL Championship against the Lizards


The 2005 Bayhawks has to be one of the greatest lacrosse teams ever assembled. Led by veterans such as Gary Gait, Tom Marechek, Jake Bergey, face-off specialist Paul Cantabene, and goaltender Greg Cattrano the Bayhawks dominated the MLL and set several scoring records throughout the year. The team capped the season with their fourth National Division title and their second MLL crown.


In 2010 the Bayhawks finished the season 6-6 and made their first trip to Championship Weekend since 2005. The team defeated the Boston Cannons 13-9 in the semifinals, and won their third Steinfeld Trophy with another 13-9 victory, this time over their archrivals, the Long Island Lizards.


After a 2011 season that saw the Bayhawks eliminated in the first round by the Boston Cannons, Kelly stepped down as head coach and promoted Dave Cottle from assistant coach to head coach. Immediately after, Cottle brought in Tony Resch to serve as his defensive coordinator. In 2012 they recaptured the Steinfeld Trophy, defeating the Denver Outlaws 16-6 in the final, the last team to defeat the Outlaws.


The 2013 regular season saw the Bayhawks clinch the number two seed in the playoffs on the last game of the season and will face the Hamilton Nationals in the first round.  A victory by the Bayhawks could set up a rematch of the 2012 finals against the Denver Outlaws.


This roster of Bayhawks have a core of players that are just getting better each week.  Westervelt, Rubeor, Dixon. And Kip Turner between the pipes.   


Can the Bayhawks win their third title in four years?


Baltimore Bayhawks  ..…2001-2006

Washington Bayhawks…2007-2009

Chesapeake Bayhawks…2010-Present


Steinfeld Cups                4   (2002, 2005, 2010, 2012)

Division Championships…(2001, 2002, 2003, 2005)