Nationals Protected Roster Excludes Sid Smith

There were not many surprises with the recently announced Hamilton Nationals 23 man protected roster.  The core group returns for the 2014 season.  The 2013 MLL MVP and Offensive Player of the Year and co leading scorer Kevin Crowley (38G, 3-2PTG & 14A) 55 points was named to the list.  Other notables were All Stars Tucker Durkin and Brodie Merrill.  The remaining core was named early this week with the likes of 2 Time NLL Champion and 2013 Mann Cup Champion Cody Jamieson, Jordan Hall, Brett Queener, Jeremy Thompson and Stephen Keogh being place on the Nationals protected list. The only real surprise was Sid Smith not on the list.

The Hamilton Nationals are hoping to advance to the MLL Finals this coming season after falling short in the 2013 semi final.

Note: Rumour has it that the Hamilton Nationals could be moving to Florida for 2014.  With a strong Canadian core it will be interesting to see what translate if this location change occurs.  Reports have also stated that Hamilton will have a team in 2015 when the new  Hamilton Tiger Cats (CFL) stadium is built.


Hamilton Nationals

Reid Acton, Defense

Josh Amidon, Midfield

Martin Cahill, Attack

Kevin Crowley, Midfield

Kevin Cunningham, Attack

Tucker Durkin, Defense

Jordan Hall, Midfield

Cody Jamieson, Attack

Stephen Keogh, Attack

Roy Lang, Midfield

Roman Lao-Gosney, Midfield

Cameron Lao-Gosney, Midfield

Chris LaPierre, Midfield

Matt Lovejoy, Defense

Brodie Merrill, Defense

Donny Moss, Midfield

Jason Noble, Defense

Mike Poppleton, FO/Mid

Brett Queener, Goalie

Jeremy Thompson, Midfield

Garrett Thul, Attack

Joe Walters, Midfield

Dillon Ward, Goalie