Presidents Cup Preview: Kahnawake Mohawks

Next week the Sr B champions open with the President’s Cup being hosted in Kahnawake, Quebec. Today we preview the host team and QSLL champion Kahnawake Mohawks.The Mohawks swept the Capital Region Axemen in the Quebec Senior Lacrosse League championship, winning their last game 21-11. The Mohawks are led by Callum Crawford, a star with the NLL’s Minnesota Swarm. He led the team with 62 points this season, also led the entire QSLL.

Ty Thompson, a stand out at the university of Albany is also on the team and scored 27 points this season. Vancouver Stealth forward Dean Hill put up 23 points for the Mohawks. Luke Wiles of the Buffalo Bandits is also on the roster along with his younger brother Caleb Wiles of the Barrie Blizzard.

Goaltender Derek Collins led the league with a goals against average of 8.10. Their other goaltenders, Bluecloud Lahache and Mike Thompson were also in the top five of goaltendening statistics.

The majority of the Mohawks roster are natives of Kahnawake, though some come from Ontario and John Warrior is a native of New York.

Despite being the host team, the Mohawks might be the favorites to take home the President’s Cup.