Press Release: MLL cancels semi-final; Boston and Denver play for championship Sunday

The MLL followed strict health procedures for players and staff. July 20, 2020 Annapolis, MD – Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium Chesapeake Bayhawks vs Boston Cannons. (Photography Credit: Alex McIntyre)

Annapolis, MD – Today Major League Lacrosse (MLL) announced the execution of their COVID-19 protocol.

Yesterday evening a player in the league approached a member of his team’s medical staff with potential symptoms of COVID-19. He was immediately placed into a full quarantine and tested. Within a few hours it was determined that he had tested positive for the virus. Following the protocol, developed with a team of leading physicians before the start of the season, Major League Lacrosse immediately placed all players into quarantine. This morning, Major League Lacrosse tested all individuals who, through contact tracing, were determined to be at risk for COVID-19.

After receiving the results each team made a decision independently regarding participation. The semifinal games for Saturday have been cancelled. The Chesapeake Bayhawks and the Connecticut Hammerheads have forfeited. The 2020 MLL championship game will take place tomorrow, with the Boston Cannons facing off against the Denver Outlaws. The game will be aired on ESPN at 2pm EST.

“The most important priority is the health and wellness of our players,” said Commissioner Alexander (Sandy) Brown. “We have been prepared, thorough and measured in our response and have followed league protocol. It is thanks to our medical and COVID teams that we have had a rapid and exhaustive response. We look forward to taking the field tomorrow and rounding out our 20th anniversary season.”


From ILWT:

Boston and Denver played an exciting game on Friday night and are both worthy championship contenders. As defending champs, however, and having played a strong regular season, Chesapeake must be disappointed not to get a chance to reclaim their title. Denver finished first with a 4-1 record, while Connecticut, Boston and Chesapeake all finished at 3-2.