Redhawks Win CanAm Title; Mohawks Take Game One

The Onondaga Redhawks took the Canadian-American Lacrosse League title on Saturday night, winning four in a best of seven against the Newtown Golden Eagles.

The Redhawks have won back to back league championships with the CanAm league, defeating the Golden Eagles to advance to the President’s Cup. The game was won by the Redhawks in overtime, 12-11.

Meanwhile in the Quebec Senior Lacrosse League, the favored Kahnawake Mohawks took game one over the Capital Region Axemen, 8-7. Caleb Wiles (Barrie Blizzard, CLax) led the Mohawks with five points while Dean Hill (Vancouver Stealth) and Luke Wiles (Buffalo Bandits) each picked up four.

Tim Bergin, the Axemen leading scorer, led them with five points. Derek Collins and Bluecloud Lahache split time in net for the Mohawks and they combined for 42 saves. Brett Perras made 51 saves in the loss for the Axemen.

The Saints won their series over the Six Nations Rivermen tonight in OLA Sr B action to join the Redhawks and advance to the President’s Cup. Brad Favero (Brampton Inferno- CLax) and Chris Attwood each picked up five points for the St. Catharines Saints while Jake Henhawk (Rochester Knighthawks) allowed just nine goals in the 10-9 win.

For the Rivermen, Wayne Van Every had five points while Delby Powless and Cory Bomberry each had four. Angus Goodleaf (Rochester Knighthawks) allowed ten goals. In the third period, the Saints scored three straight goals to win it. The game winner went to Favero. Justin Gibson of the Rivermen scored late, but they couldn’t score again and lost the game by one.