Swarm Open Second Session of Camp With Seven Walk Ons

After the first training camp session of the season for the Minnesota Swarm yesterday, they have brought on nine rookies and six free agents.

The rookies who moved on were Shayne Jackson, Kiel Matisz, Mike Teeter, Brock Sorensen, Matt Gibson, Chris Cudmore, Tyler Tanguay, Bryan Campbell, Zach Higgins and Alex Crepinsek.

Matisz, Sorensen, Jackson and Crepisnek were all first round picks for the Swarm, with second overall pick Sorensen signing with the team today before camp.

Higgins was not drafted, but the goaltender was signed as a free agent after it was discovered his drat eligible year was 2011, not 2012.

Walk ons included Eric Benesch, Ian Crawford, Dustin Dunn, Mike Gillan, Cody Jacobs, Ryan Masters and Michael O’Brien.

Benesch is the brother to Swarm, star Ryan Benesch, and Crawford is the brother to Swarm forward Callum Crawford. Benesch is a forward and Crawford is a defenseman.

Jacobs has played in the NLL with the Buffalo Bandits and Chicago Shamrox He also plays in the QSLL with the Kahnawake Mohawks and CLax with the Iroquois Ironmen. Gillan is a forward who played Junior B lacrosse with the Oakville Titans.

O’Brien is a Hobart grad who has played in the PLL with the Charlotte Copperheads this fall. Dunn was in Swarm training camp last season. He has played with the Nanaimo Timbermen, Brampton Inferno, Brooklin Redmen and the Peterborough Lakers and Markham Ironheads in Juniors.

Eric Benesch was also in Swarm camp last year and plays in MSL with the Kitchener Waterloo Kodiaks and also played his juniors with Kitchener and St. Catharines.

Ian Crawford has played with the Mohawks in the QSLL for the past four seasons. Masters is a goaltender who played juniors with Peterborough and most recently played Sr B with Owen Sound.

Posted in NLL