USA Announces Bowhunter Cup Roster

Regy Thorpe announced the players today that will represent the United States at the Third Annual Bowhunter Cup. The star-studded roster, led by Casey Powell, will take on the Iroquois Nationals on Saturday, October 13th at 8:00 p.m. The teams will compete in an International Exhibition at The Blue Cross Arena, which is the home of the 2012 National Lacrosse League Champion Rochester Knighthawks.

“The best fans in the league will get to see a game that certainly has been a spirited affair for the past two years. I know the American team is excited to compete for the trophy and I know the Iroquois won’t give it up without a fight,” said Bowhunter Cup USA General Manager and Knighthawks Hall of Famer Regy Thorpe. “So much pride is on the line and it will be a great night to celebrate the game of lacrosse.”

Knighthawks Hall of Famer Tim Soudan will lead the American team into the contest as the team’s head coach. Knighthawks Scout Brian Hobart and former Rochester defenseman Chris Schiller will serve as the assistant coaches. Schiller was the team captain of the U.S. team that competed in Prague at the 2011 World Championships. The Penfield native played for the Knighthawks for 11 seasons.

The Knighthawks boast four players on the American squad with goalie Jake Henhawk, transition man Joel White, and forwards Joe Walters and Powell. Rochester native Joe Walters headlines a group of 13 local lacrosse stars from western and central, NY. The former four-time All-American will play in his third Bowhunter Cup.

“The annual Bowhunter Cup has been one of my favorite events. It is an honor to wear the red, white and blue and represent my country against the Iroquois Nationals,” he said. “With the game being in Rochester this year, it will be a cherry on top playing in front of the home crowd fans.”

Team captain Casey Powell returns to the United States after winning MVP of the 2011 FIL World Indoor Lacrosse Championships. The Syracuse University product hails from West Carthage, NY and is one of the greatest names in the history of the game. Tom Guadagnolo (Syracuse, NY) and White (Cortland, NY) round out the former Syracuse Orange on the American team.

The small community of Penn Yan, NY sends three players and Coach Brian Hobart to the U.S. Team. Defenseman Mike Manley, and brothers Brice and Brett Queener will represent their Yates County community of just over 5,000 people in the international game.

Other local players include Webster native Grant Catalino, Hilton’s Donny Moss, Andrew Spack (LaFayette, NY), Joe Smith (Buffalo), Joe Resetarits (Hamburg, NY) and Ryan Hotaling (Syracuse, NY). Hotaling played his college lacrosse at Nazareth and was the 2007 Empire 8 Men’s Lacrosse Player of the Year and a three-time All-American. Hotaling and Smith were members of Team USA at the 2011 FIL World Indoor Lacrosse Championships.

In goal, the Americans will have two of the three goalies from the world championships in Prague in Henhawk and veteran Erik Miller. Henhawk is coming off one of his best seasons. He had an 11.18 goals-against average and won his first Champion’s Cup. Miller played in 13 seasons in the National Lacrosse League with teams in Baltimore, Pittsburgh, Washington, Colorado, Philadelphia and New York. He has played 109 games, accumulated 1,232 saves and a 75 percent save percentage, which earned him the nickname the “Iron Curtain.”

Tickets are currently on sale and can be purchased at all Ticketmaster outlets,, at The Blue Cross Arena Box Office or by calling            1-800-745-3000      . Individual tickets range in price from $18 to $30, while group seats are $13 to $22. Knighthawks and Buffalo Bandits season ticket holders will receive special individual pricing.

The Iroquois Nationals are 4-1 all-time against the United States in indoor competition. In last year’s Bowhunter Cup, the Iroquois Nationals edged Team USA 14-13 at Oneida Indian Nation’s Turning Stone Resort Casino at the Event Center. The win evened the series at one win apiece. In the inaugural Bowhunter Cup in 2010, USA earned its first ever win over the Iroquois Nationals, a 13-11 victory, at the War Memorial at Oncenter in Syracuse.
United States Roster

Casey Powell
Max Seibald
Joe Walters
Grant Catalino
David Earl
Joe Resetarits
Brett Queener

Mitch Belisle
Kyle Hartzell
Joe Smith
Matt Lovejoy
Mike Manley

Tom Guadagnolo
Brice Queener
Ryan Hotaling
Joel White
Donny Moss
Andrew Spack

Jake Henhawk
Erik Miller

Posted in NLL