USA Announces Invites for Tryouts

US Lacrosse today announced the 98 players selected to try out for the U.S. Men’s National Team, which will defend its world title at the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Championships on July 10-19, 2014, in Denver, Colo. Tryouts will be held Aug. 30-Sept. 1 at Goucher College in Baltimore, Md.

A total of 156 players submitted tryout applications, which were considered by a selection committee including current and past U.S. men’s national team coaches and players, as well as current college and professional coaches. U.S. team head coach Richie Meade (Furman University) will oversee the tryout process. Following tryouts, US Lacrosse will announce the 40-player U.S. men’s national team.

Ten players return to try out from the 2010 U.S. men’s national team that won gold with a 12-10 victory over Canada in Manchester, England. Notable returners include 2010 World Championships MVP Paul Rabil, All-World performers Brendan Mundorf and Max Seibald, three-time U.S. team members Ryan Boyle and Matt Striebel, and Ned Crotty, who scored the game-tying and game-winning goals to clinch the world title for the U.S. in Manchester.

The tryout pool by position with professional teams, collegiate alma maters, and previous U.S. team experience noted:


Billy Bitter, LXM PRO, North Carolina

Chris Bocklet, Denver Outlaws, Virginia

Jeremy Boltus, Denver Outlaws, Army

Ryan Boyle, Boston Cannons, Princeton*^+

Ned Crotty, Rochester Rattlers, Duke*

Kevin Cunningham, Hamilton Nationals, Villanova

Matt Danowski, Charlotte Hounds, Duke

Matt Gibson, New York Lizards, Yale

Marcus Holman, Ohio Machine, North Carolina

Eric Law, Denver Outlaws, Denver

Kevin Leveille, Rochester Rattlers, Massachusetts

Brendan Mundorf, Denver Outlaws, UMBC*

Rob Pannell, New York Lizards, Cornell

Jack Rice, Glenelg Golden Eagles (Aus.), Villanova

Ben Rubeor, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Virginia

Steele Stanwick, Ohio Machine, Virginia
Garrett Thul, Hamilton Nationals, Army

Drew Westervelt, Chesapeake Bayhawks, UMBC*

Jordan Wolf, Duke #

Chazz Woodson, Ohio Machine, Brown

Ryan Young, Charlotte Hounds, Maryland


Peter Baum, LXM PRO, Colgate

Stephen Berger, Boston Cannons, Washington College

Sam Bradman, LXM PRO, Salisbury

Steven Brooks, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Syracuse

Kevin Buchanan, Boston Cannons, Ohio State

David Earl, New York Lizards, Notre Dame

Graham Gill, LXM PRO, Navy

Kyle Harrison, LXM PRO, Johns Hopkins

Pat Heim, Boston Cannons, Penn State

Ben Hunt, Chesapeake Bayhawks, North Carolina

Terry Kimener, Denver Outlaws, UMBC

Michael Kimmel, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Johns Hopkins

Cameron Lao-Gosney, Hamilton Nationals, Lehigh

Roman Lao-Gosney, Hamilton Nationals, Lehigh

David Lawson, Rochester Rattlers, Duke

Matt Mackrides, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Penn State

Stephen Peyser, New York Lizards, Johns Hopkins*

Peet Poillon, Charlotte Hounds, UMBC

Paul Rabil, Boston Cannons, Johns Hopkins*

Casey Powell, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Syracuse^%

Mike Sawyer, Charlotte Hounds, Loyola

Tom Schreiber, Princeton #

Max Seibald, New York Lizards, Cornell*

Jeremy Sieverts, Denver Outlaws, Maryland

Drew Snider, Denver Outlaws, Maryland

Mike Stone, Boston Cannons, Middlebury

Matt Striebel, Rochester Rattlers, Princeton*^+

Short-stick defensive midfield

Matt Abbott, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Syracuse

Jake Bernhardt, Ohio Machine, Maryland

Dan Burns, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland

Steve DeNapoli, Rochester Rattlers, Hofstra

Benson Erwin, LXM PRO, Johns Hopkins

Chris LaPierre, Hamilton Nationals, Virginia #
Justin Pennington, Denver Outlaws, Rutgers

John Ranagan, Rochester Rattlers, Johns Hopkins

Chris Schiller, Charlotte Hounds, Penn State*

Kevin Unterstein, New York Lizards, Hofstra


Matt Dolente, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Johns Hopkins

Chris Eck, Boston Cannons, Colgate

Brendan Fowler, Duke #

Greg Gurenlian, New York Lizards, Penn State

Anthony Kelly, Denver Outlaws, Ohio State

Kevin Massa, Bryant #

Mike Poppleton, Hamilton Nationals, Johns Hopkins

Adam Rand, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Stony Brook

Long-stick midfield

Jesse Bernhardt, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland

Matt Bocklet, Denver Outlaws, Johns Hopkins

Brian Farrell, Boston Cannons, Maryland

Kyle Hartzell, Ohio Machine, Salisbury

Brian Karalunas, New York Lizards, Villanova

John LoCascio, Villanova #

Scott Ratliff, Boston Cannons, Loyola

Dillon Roy, Denver Outlaws, Denver


Mitch Belisle, Boston Cannons, Cornell

Brendan Buckley, Boston Cannons, Army

Tucker Durkin, Hamilton Nationals, Johns Hopkins

Barney Ehrmann, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Georgetown

Michael Evans, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Johns Hopkins

Ryan Flanagan, Charlotte Hounds, North Carolina

Joe Fletcher, Loyola #

John Lade, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse

Matt Lovejoy, Hamilton Nationals, Virginia

Mike Manley, Rochester Rattlers, Duke

Nicky Polanco, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Hofstra

Brett Schmidt, Charlotte Hounds, Maryland

Michael Simon, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Stevenson

Kyle Sweeney, Boston Cannons, Georgetown*

Chad Wiedmaier, Ohio Machine, Princeton

Lee Zink, Denver Outlaws, Maryland


Drew Adams, New York Lizards, Penn State

Jordan Burke, Boston Cannons, Brown

John Galloway, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse

Adam Ghitelman, Charlotte Hounds, Virginia

Austin Kaut, Penn State #

Brett Queener, Hamilton Nationals, Albany

Jesse Schwartzman, Denver Outlaws, Johns Hopkins

Kip Turner, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Virginia

* 2010 U.S. men’s national team member

^ 2006 U.S. men’s national team member

+ 2002 U.S. men’s national team member

% 1998 U.S. men’s national team member

# Current college player