Attwood, Henhawk Lead Saints to Cup

The St. Catherines Saints were crowned 2013 Presidents’ Cup Champions Sunday after an 8-5 win over the host Kahnawake Mohawks.


Kahnawake jumped out to an early lead when Callum Crawford scored just 45 seconds into the game. A pair of goals from Brad Favero gave the Saints a short-lived advantage, as Caleb Wiles would net a powerplay marker to tie the game heading into the second period.


The Saints regained the lead in the second when Mitch Dumont and Andrew Potter made it 4-2. After the teams exchanged goals, Ty Thompson scored for the Mohawks to cut the Saints lead to one.


St. Catherines pulled away in the final frame. Chris Atwood would score just over two minutes into the period, before Dumont netted his second of the game to extend the lead to 7-4. Dean Hill scored the lone goal of the period for Kahnawake as the Mohawks failed to rally a comeback. Jason Henhawk scored late for the Saints to cement the victory.


Chris Atwood led the Saints offensively with five points. Attwood finished as the tournament’s leading scorer with 21 goals and 24 assists for 45 points. Brad Favero and Mitch Dumont each scored twice for St. Catherines, while Chris Janese contributed with three assists.


Callum Crawford and Luke Wiles carried Kahnawake in the loss. Crawford opened the scoring for the Mohawks and afterwards assisted on every goal, while Wiles finished with four points in the loss.

In other Presidents’ Cup action, the Caughnawaga Indians earned the bronze medal with a 14-9 win over the Calgary Mountaineers. Lyle Thompson led the way for the Indians with five goals and four assists, while six other Caughnawaga players registered two points or more in the win. Tyler Melnyk had five points for Calgary. Melnyk finished the tournament with 22 goals and 22 assists for 44 points, trailing only St. Catherines’ Chris Atwood in scoring.