NLL To Have Longer Season, New Playoff Format

According to reports from the NLL will have a new playoff format under the new CBA in 2014.The new playoff format will see six teams make the playoffs instead of eight like the previous two seasons. Minnesota is going to the Eastern conference, so the top three teams will make the playoffs in each conference.

The top seed in the conferences will get a bye week while the bottom two playoff teams battle it out in a one game playoff. This is where things get interesting now. The next week the bye team travels to the lower seed for a two game playoff.

The next week the teams travel back to the higher seed’s home. If the teams split, there will be a ten minute game to determine who wins. If that is still tied, there will be a sudden OT playoff.

The championship game will also be a two game playoff. The season will begin at the end of December and run into the end of May, right around the middle of Major League Lacrosse season.

Stay tuned for more as it becomes available.