Tewaaraton Foundation Announces Nominations

bergDUThe Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 25 men’s and women’s nominees for the 2015 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States.
Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be selected from these groups of 25, announced on Thursday, May 7, and invited to the ceremony. The 15th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held Thursday, May 28 in Washington, D.C., at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian.

The men’s award nominees include players from 14 schools, including 2014 co-winner Lyle Thompson (Albany) and representatives from 11 of the top 20 teams in the April 20 USILA Coaches Poll. Six schools are represented by multiple players, including Syracuse, which leads the nation with four nominees.

The 25 men’s nominees, with school, graduation year and position noted:

Trevor Baptiste, Denver – Fr., Faceoff
Wesley Berg, Denver – Sr., Attack
Kyle Bernlohr, Maryland – Jr., Goalie
Jimmy Bitter, UNC – Sr., Attack
Ryan Brown, Johns Hopkins – Jr., Attack
Connor Buczek, Cornell – Sr., Midfield
Connor Cannizzaro, Denver – So., Attack
Deemer Class, Duke – Jr., Midfield
Dylan Donahue, Syracuse – Jr., Attack
Matt Donovan, Cornell – Sr., Attack
John Glesener, Army – Sr., Attack
Myles Jones, Duke – Jr., Midfield
Matt Kavanagh, Notre Dame – Jr., Attack
Jesse King, Ohio State – Sr., Midfield
Matt Landis, Notre Dame – Jr., Defense
Dylan Molloy, Brown – So., Attack
Brandon Mullins, Syracuse – Jr., Defense
Conrad Oberbeck, Yale – Sr., Attack
Sergio Perkovic, Notre Dame – So., Midfield
Kevin Rice, Syracuse – Sr., Attack
Joey Sankey, UNC – Sr., Attack
Dan Taylor, Lehigh – Sr., Attack
Lyle Thompson, Albany – Sr., Attack
Chad Tutton, UNC – Sr., Midfield
Ben Williams, Syracuse – So., Faceoff

The women’s award nominees include players from 16 schools, including 2014 finalists Megan Douty (Maryland), Shannon Gilroy (Florida) and Kayla Treanor (Syracuse), 2014 winner Taylor Cummings (Maryland), and representatives from 14 of the Top 20 teams in the April 20 IWLCA Coaches Poll. Six schools had two or more players nominated, with Maryland earning an NCAA-best four nominations.

Three women’s nominees were added in this round, including Sarah Mannelly (Boston College), Kylie Ohlmiller (Stony Brook) and Lucy Dikeou (Stanford).

The 25 women’s nominees, with school, graduation year and position noted:

Casey Bocklet, Virginia – Sr., Attack
Taylor Cummings, Maryland – Jr., Midfield
Lucy Dikeou, Stanford – Jr., Midfield
Megan Douty, Maryland – Sr., Defense
Kelsey Duryea, Duke – Jr., Goalie
Lucy Ferguson, Penn – Sr., Goalie
Cortney Fortunato, Notre Dame – So., Attack
Erica Geremia, LeMoyne – Jr., Attack
Shannon Gilroy, Florida – Sr., Midfield
Brooke Griffin, Maryland – Sr., Attack
Martha Griffin, Trinity – Jr., Midfield
Selena Lasota, Northwestern – Fr., Attack
Sarah Mannelly, Boston College – Jr., Midfield
Meg Markham, Penn – Sr., Defense
Kerrin Maurer, Duke – Sr., Attack
Maggie McCormick, Penn State – Sr., Attack
Kaylin Morissette, Louisville – Jr., Midfield
Kylie Ohlmiller, Stony Brook – Fr., Attack
Mikaela Rix, Boston College – Sr., Midfield
Covie Stanwick, Boston College – Sr., Attack
Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame – Sr., Defense
Courtney Swan, Virginia – Sr., Attack
Kayla Treanor, Syracuse – Jr., Attack
Courtney Waite, UNC – Sr., Defense
Megan Whittle, Maryland – Fr., Attack

“We congratulate these elite student-athletes on their remarkable accomplishments thus far this season,” said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “With the help of our selection committees, we look forward to announcing this year’s finalists next month.”

This year’s initial Watch Lists were announced on Feb. 28 and included the top 50 men’s and women’s college lacrosse players in the country. Two rounds of additions to the Watch Lists were announced on March 19 and April 9.