NLL Goaltender of the Year Candidates


As the offseason continues, the NLL is continuing to release the candidates for the league’s various top honours. On Thursday the Goaltender of the Year nominees were revealed.

For the second year in a row, Aaron Bold of the Edmonton Rush was nominated. For the second straight year, Bold led the league in goals against average, at 9.44, and wins, with 12.

Brandon Miller of the Toronto Rock was nominated for the second time in the last three years—he was nominated in 2013 while playing for the Philadelphia Wings as well. Miller finished fourth in the NLL in GAA (10.36) and third in save percentage (.792).

But the likely winner is once again going to be Matt Vinc of the Rochester Knighthawks. Vinc ties for the league lead in save percentage (.803), was second in GAA (9.62) and tied for second in wins (10). He also set the record for fewest goals allowed in a game (two), just a week after Bold had tied the previous record of three against him and the Knighthawks.

Vinc has already won an unprecedented four Goaltender of the Year awards in the last five years, including the last two in a row. The combination of yet another outstanding year—including a record-setting game—as well as his reputation as arguably the best goalie in NLL history should make him a cinch for the trophy once again.